Saree and Pallu set for Varalakshmi Vratham!

Standard

Goddess Lakshmi is also called Varalakshmi/Varamahalakshmi, the one who grants the boon “Vara”. It is celebrated by south Indians on the second Friday of Shravana Month as per the Hindu Calendar.

This year (2015) it is falling on 28th Augusut. My husband’s family has the tradition of placing Goddess Lakshmi roopu(face) on Kalash and my MIL gave me a silver one after our wedding. Last year, I used a readymade skirt/saree and pallu set 🙂

Here is a picture of 2014 Varamahalakshmi pooja!

IMG_9208

This year I  decided to have a new and customized set and here is a tutorial on how to make a readymade saree and pallu set!

You need:

Choice of fabric

Measuring tape

Sewing machine/hand stitched

No stitch fabric glue – found @ craft stores (WalmartHobby Lobby)

Trims and other embellishments that match the fabric.

How you make:

Step 1: Measure the height and the circumference of the kalash like shown below. Add 2 inches to the height and double or 2 1/2 of circumference( for more pleats)

IMG_2013 IMG_2016

Step 2: Cut the fabric as per the measurements. Finish up the raw edges with matching thread (I used white for demonstration). You can also glue the edges with “no stitch fabric glue”

IMG_2017 IMG_2018

Step 3: Fold the fabric to form pleats and stitch. For no stitch – use a dot of fabric glue for each fold and leave to dry for 30 minutes.

 IMG_2021 IMG_2023

Step 4: Wrap around the kalash to make sure it fits well.  Stitch or glue the decorative trim/border to saree and pin it.

IMG_2025IMG_2026

Step 5: Make a pallu 3inches wide and length depending on how you want to place on the idol and you have the set ready 🙂

IMG_2029IMG_2045

On the actual pooja day, place kalash and the face of goddess. Wrap around the saree and pin it. Add necessary jewelry and finally place pallu. ( For demonstration, I used a mango to place the face – traditionally coconut is used).

IMG_2027IMG_2043IMG_2031

Hope you enjoyed the tutorial and make a cute and beautiful saree set for this year pooja! I shall share this year pooja pictures soon after the vratham 🙂

Here is 2015  Varalakshmi pooja picture – I made a green set to match my saree 🙂

IMG_1652

IMG_1679.jpg

And 2016 I made orange and maroon saree set to match my saree again 🙂

IMG_3421 (2)

FullSizeRender

Happy Friday!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

