Install Perfect Knobs and Pulls

Standard

We finished installing knobs and pulls for our kitchen cabinets (24 knobs and 14 pulls), master suite(4 knobs and 3 pulls) , guest bathroom(4 knobs and 3 pulls) and laundry room( 9 pulls) . I wanted them as soon as we moved because wiping down the cabinets frequently is no fun.

IMG_0857

When we initiated “Project Kitchen Cabinet Hardware”, I counted  knobs and pulls we need and the number was 61. It didn’t take long to realize how expensive it is going to be 😦

I started looking online where I can get, may be for $1 each or little more so that we don’t spend more than $75 for the whole project. I wasn’t really looking for fancy or super quality ones for kitchen because we currently have black appliances and have a plan to upgrade may be in a year or two. Well, after some search I found it here for a real good deal.

Initially, I wasn’t very confident on the quality but they are pretty nice and it arrived quick with no damaged pieces. The only thing that didn’t work was the cabinet pull screws were little short, that was an easy fix. We got long screws from Homedepot for less than $2.

Image

Once we had all the the hardware,  the scary part – drilling holes, rather drilling perfect holes. It was easy with the installation template found @ Home Depot, and the drilling bit is handy to have right size holes.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 9.12.16 AM

Get started and tape strips of painters tape to the area where you want have the knob or pull.

IMG_1489

Center it and line the template up with the edges of the door and mark your hole with a pencil, make sure to use the same hole every time!

IMG_1492IMG_1493

Using the drill bit from the template kit, drill through the cabinet doors/drawers.

IMG_1498

Take off the tape and  screw the knobs/pulls and it is done.

IMG_1502

For less than $75 we have all of them and adding the cabinet hardware does give a complete look.

The template gives you 3 different options for width, so make sure you pick the right one. And hang the template from the top of the drawer and line up the center.

Hope this tutorial makes it easy to add hardware to your cabinets 🙂

Happy Friday!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

4 responses »

  1. Hi Poornima, have been enjoying all your posts. I think you have nailed it in explaining things very clearly better than a lot of sites that I have explored. The pics are also very well taken.
    Great job and keep it coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful to see you follow your passion Purnima. You are very good at it. You can teach a lot to the world with your talents! Sometimes life has to pull us out of our regular routine jobs to expose us to our skills. Keep blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

