Chipotle Bar @ Home…

Standard

S and I are chipotle addicts 🙂

We absolutely love the big veggie bowl filled with their fantastic rice, beans, grilled veggies, mild-medium- and a pinch of spicy salsa, a finally top it with a scoop of guac…….

And then the carbs and calories thing makes me way too guilty. So, jus to replace the carbs to healthy protein that is gluten free, a spiced cilantro quinoa is a perfect combination. Well, I have been making this for lunch and dinner for a while now and it may not be quick(takes about an hour) but very easy with little preparation 🙂

Serves – 2

So, start by cooking cilantro-lime quinoa (replacing rice)

1 tsp of Oil

1 tsp of Cumin seeds

1 large clove of garlic – finely chopped

1/4 cup of Quinoa

1/2 cup of water

Salt to taste

1/2 lemon- juice

10-12 Sprigs of Cilantro

In a pan add oil, once oil is hot add Cumin and chopped Garlic. Once they garlic is cooked add 1/2 cup of water.

To it add 1/2 lemon juice, salt and add quinoa and bring it to boil. Simmer and cook it covered for 20 minutes and when it is almost done, add chopped cilantro.

IMG_0870

Black beans soak 1/2 cup of black beans for 2 hours and cook with little salt until tender or use canned beans.

Veggies – Chop red onions and peppers (green or/and red) and sauté on high heat with little oil and salt.

IMG_0876

Salsa – you can find Salsa seasoning mix @ most of the grocery stores and jus add tomato, onions and cilantro

IMG_0877

Lastly, my fav part of the bowl is Guacamole

2 medium sized avacados

1/2 red onion – finely chopped

2-3 Indian chilles/ 1 Jalapeno ( seeds and flesh removed)

1 Lime

12-15 sprigs of Cilantro

Cut avocado and scoop the flesh and add chopped onions, chilled, cilantro and lime juice. Add a pinch of salt and store it in a air tight container.

Tip To avoid avocados from browning – add another half a lemon juice on top and store. When you are ready to use take off the juice, mix well and it is ready to use. 

IMG_0869

Layer it in a bowl and you have a healthy and a yummilicous chipotle veggie bowl @ home 🙂

IMG_0872

Happy Tuesday!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

Leave a Reply

