IPhone Photos to Canvas Wall Art!

Standard

When you take pictures on your iPhone, do you do anything with them?

I am sure this project will be a great inspiration to convert some of your best shots into a gorgeous canvas panel art! And it is super easy that anybody could do it and I mean it!

IMG_1274

The flowering pear blossom is from our backyard clicked from iPhone6. They came out so beautiful that I was itching for a project. It was a perfect timing too to makeover our guest bedroom (family visiting for Memorial Day weekend).

This easy canvas art projects are all over Pinterest, but I loved mine so much that I have to share it with you all 🙂

Project cost –  $25    Time – 30 minutes  

Material 

Printed photographs (mine 11×14 @ Costco) – $16 for 4

Blank Canvas @ Michaels –  $12 for 7 canvas pack (40% off coupon)

Modpodge (any craft store) already on hand

Foam Brush/ putty knife

Optional –

Acrylic Paint

Paint Brush

Craft Knife

IMG_1269 IMG_1265

Step 1 : Paint the edge of your canvas (color of your choice). This is optional, however painting the edges would surely give a finished look. I used Metallic Silver acrylic paint.

IMG_1253

Step 2: While it is drying, cut your photo to fit the canvas or for colored edges may be 1/4 inch less.

IMG_1254

Step 3: Add a layer of Mod Podge on to the surface of canvas and a layer to the photograph.

Position the photograph on the canvas well, it should lay flat without any air bubbles.

IMG_1255

Step 4: Now add another layer of ModPodge over the photo. Make sure it is evenly covered and do not panic it dries clear.

IMG_1256

Step 5: Leave it for 30-60 mins to dry.

IMG_1257

Now the challenge is to hang them straight 🙂 If you remember my “Tip of the week” , I am going to use the same tip with little modifications to have them perfectly placed on the wall.

Place the frames/canvas you want to hang, upside down in the pattern of your choice. Then take an equal length of painters/masking tape and stick it along the borders.

IMG_1258

Using a marker, mark along the keyholes (right edge and the left edge) of the frame/canvas.

IMG_1259

Take off the marked tape and stick it on the wall you want to hang your pictures.

IMG_1261

Drill holes as per the marking. If it is a heavy piece use hollow- wall anchors. For canvas, I used pushpins.

IMG_1262

Hang the pictures/frames, make sure they are straight and take off the tape.

Tadahhh……..

IMG_1277

This is a simple, quick and an awesome wall decor to fill those empty walls and most important requires less time and low spending.

Happy Friday!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

7 responses »

  1. Hi nima. accidentally saw your post of modpodge and canvas – i must say i got hooked to your blog! wow nice work. I had question – As i understand you have pasted the photo prints on the canvas right? is there a method that you may know to transfer the print over the canvas ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Shruti😍 hmm do u know abt pinterest. It has lot of projects on photo transfer and what I make out from them is you need to have a laser printed photograph on print paper, becoz with inkjet when u try to take off the paper by rubbing with water, it might smear and spoil the image. I haven’t tried it,have it in my to-do projects😃

      Like

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Wall Art! | CREATIVE ME

  3. Pingback: Space Above Kitchen Cabinets!! | CREATIVE ME

  4. Pingback: Thank you! | CREATIVE ME

Leave a Reply

