DIY Return Gifts!!

Standard

Return gifts are special and always remain as memory. There are a ton of ideas however, traditional ones are unique looking.

I have one such item to share that you can make from Polymer Clay. When I first saw on FB page – It’s clay world, I was really impressed and wanted to make something similar. And the time was perfect, just before Varamahalakshmi Pooja 2014.

So, I couldn’t wait and made couple of sets for friends and was very overwhelmed by the compliments 🙂 This is how my poly clay thamboolam set look 🙂

IMG_5452

These fridge magnets are amazing and I lovveeee them!!

For each set there is a blouse piece(blue color), flowers, haldi n kumkum, beetal nut and leaves, flowers, bangle, muruku, choc barfi, banana and one half of coconut.

To make the miniature banana, followed a miniature fruit tutorial on youtube and made flowers with a fondant flower plunger.

The technique used to make the coconut is:

Step 1 : Take equal proportions of brown and white clay and roll it flat.

IMG_5415

Step 2: To shape, use a marble or bake scrap clay into a tiny ball. Dip the clay ball or marble into corn/rice flour and lay the white rolled clay and cover with brown clay. Shape it as shown below.

IMG_5418

Step 3: Use a toothpick to create the coconut texture and make 3 hollows. If needed refrigerate for few mins to hold the shape.

IMG_5421

Step 4: Bake the pieces for 10 minutes @ 275F /130 C. Once cool trim off the edges with a sharp blade.

IMG_5424

Step 5: To get more realistic look, use gloss varnish or clear nail polish to glaze the white part.

IMG_5427Rest pieces are handmade.

IMG_5430

Lastly, to assemble, I picked dipping sauce cups from Vietnamese store and glued with super glue 🙂

IMG_6494

I hope you enjoyed the tutorial and please don’t forget to leave your thoughts.

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: It’s my Blog’s Birthday! | CREATIVE ME

Leave a Reply

