Leek n Potato Curry!!

Standard

Leeks, like garlic and onions, belong to same family. I never got a chance to eat Leeks in India. In Singapore I did taste them and they are used in lot of soups and actually started cooking them only after moving to United states. I so much enjoyed the flavor and replaced  it with green onions. And now, this superfood is part of our diet 🙂

I usually sauté chopped leeks  with some tomatoes and make a delicious curry that goes well with rice or roti/naan(Indian bread) or Leek & Potato soup, more of a curry soup.

Whenever I served the soup, my husband says a curry version with hot roti’s(Indian bread) would be a great combination too. After constantly hearing, one day I made it for dinner and we absolutely loved.

In fact, this is the first time we ate only potato curry. I really don’t prefer eating potatoes (esp for dinner) becoz they are very filling and sometimes find it hard on tummy. But this curry version was so light and delicious.

For a moment, I thought I might be first one making it;-) Unfortuantley not, I found a lot of videos and posts, so this is not new, but sharing my version 🙂

IMG_0524

You don’t need a lot of ingredients for the curry. My version is a low-medium spice, you can always add more spices as per your taste.

IMG_5115

Tomato and red onion are optional. The curry powder I used is an Indian one, you can replace it with Mccormik Curry powder.

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 9.20.42 AM

Make sure you wash Leeks properly. If you are using it for the first time, watch some youtube videos. Don’t be surprised, if you find a lot of dirt in the layers.

Chop the onion, leeks and cut the potatoes and keep ready.Heat a pan and once oil is hot add cumin seeds, red onions and sauté until onions are cooked. Then add leeks and let it cook for 3-5 mins. Then add coriander powder and the curry powder or masala.

IMG_0541

Adding the spices to onions helps in removing any raw flavor.  Add 2 cups of water/vegetable broth, potato pieces, little more salt and spices(of your choice) and let it cook for 20-25 mins or until potatoes are tender.  If you want to fasten the process, you can microwave the potato pieces.

IMG_0546

And here is the delicious curry ready to dig-in with some Indian bread 🙂

IMG_5151

Printable Recipe :

Servings : 4

Leek – 1

Potato – 2 (medium sized)

Red onion – medium sized

Curry leaves – few

Curry  Masala – 1 tsp

Coriander Masala – 1 tsp

Cumin seeds – 1 tsp

Oil – 1 tsp

Salt ( as per taste)

Water or vegetable broth – 2 cups

Tomato – 1(optional)

Step 1 : Wash the leeks and chop them finely. Also keep the red onion and potato peeled & chopped .

Step 2: Heat a pan, add 1 tsp of oil and once it is hot add cumin seeds & curry leaves.

Step 3 : Add the chopped red onion, add little salt and let them cook for few minutes. Then add the leeks and cook for 3-5 mins. Now add spices and cook until the rawness gone.

Step 4:Add 2 cups of vegetable broth/water, add potato pieces, little salt and spices if required and let it cook on low-medium heat for 20-25 mins. Cook until the potato pieces are tender and garnish with herbs of your choice 🙂

Eat Hearty!!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

Leave a Reply

