Dining Room Decor!!

Standard

Couple of weeks ago I was searching for some wall decals @ ebay and surprised when I saw the below metal wall art priced so high. Ofcourse, it is Pottern Barn 😉

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 5.50.36 PM

So I couldn’t wait to make something similar and mine costed $3(some stuff already on hand) and it looks like this:

IMG_5026

Isn’t it great!!

Intially, thought it can be stenciled and started looking on interest and found many pins. I looked at few tutorials but they are done with wood and you need something like Jigsaw to cut the curvy shapes.

That’s when I started looking at options that can replace wood as I don’t have sufficient tools. The thought of using a foam sheet was exciting but wasn’t sure of the look. However, I got 3 sheets of foam @ Hobby lobby and gave it a try. I was really impressed by the way it turned out.

And now my dining room looks perfect with those fancy yet simple wall decor.

IMG_0500

All you need is:

3 Foam sheets(99c each)

Large print out of the image

Xacto or any other sharp knife

Pen

Self healing mat or any hard surface area to cut the image

Since i couldn’t print an A3 image using the Poster printing option in PDF printed the image in 4 A4 sheets.

Trace the image on the foam sheet and it easily gets on . Cut it with a sharp knife.  Make sure you use a self healing mat or any wood base where  you don’t mind the cut marks.

IMG_0501

I have cut all three shapes, but wasn’t completely happy with the look, because the surface was quite pale. To get a shine, I rubbed little baby oil with cotton and it looked perfect. Unless you look closely you can never make out.

IMG_0503

They don’t look perfect but good enough to add on your walls and brag about it 🙂

And the foam cut-outs won’t go waste. You can use them to decorate you kitchen 😉

IMG_5030

Happy week!!

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

Leave a Reply

