Yummmmiieee!!!

Standard

IMG_0364Making a healthy and delicious meal is always a challenge!!

Recently, we discovered that we are sensitive to gluten and reducing/avoiding is helping. But the problem is we are not used of eating rice for dinner and now if we stop eating wheat I cannot cook dinner..:-(

It took a while to get used to this change, but I am glad that we are able to eat more salads for dinner. This change in  routine also motivated me to create various versions(Indian) of salad.

I have fenugreek fresh from my garden and I usually make dal or a curry and today I  wanted to try something new that is quick, healthy and can be added to my dinner menu..;-)

Here I am with an absolutely delicious dish that has amazing flavors and aroma. It can be eaten as salad or used as stuffing for some quick veggie wraps. If you find it dry you can as well add some plain yogurt and it tastes absolutely great 🙂

IMG_0369

Well, Let’s not waste anymore time and get started 🙂

What you  need :

IMG_0360 IMG_0361

How you make :

Step 1: In a pan add 1-1.5 tsp of oil and let it heat on medium heat for few minutes.Add cumin and sesame seeds.

IMG_4082IMG_4083

Step 2: Once they are brown add Asofetida, chopped ginger & Chillies and let them sauté for few seconds.

IMG_4084

Ste p 3: Add fresh/thawed coconut and carrots and sauté for 2 minutes

IMG_4085

Step 4: Once the rawness is gone then add chopped fenugreek and carrot leaves. To it add little salt and put the lid and let it cook for 3 minutes.

IMG_4088 IMG_4089

Step 5: Once the greens are tender then add boiled split chickpea and Moong dal (Split Mung Bean) and cover it for 3 more minutes. Add salt if required.

IMG_4091 IMG_4092

And there you have  a delicious meal to dig in 😉

IMG_4098

Please don’t forget to like or share you comments 🙂

Printable Recipe 

Serving – 4                   Prep Time: 10 Mins        Cook time : 12 mins

Split chickpea – 1/4 cup soaked & cooked

Yellow Mung Beans – 1/4 cup soaked & cooked

I ucooked mine in pressure cooker by steaming for 20 minutes, you can also put it in a pan/pot and boil it for 20 minutes like quinoa/rice. The water will not be absorbed completely, but cook until the lentil is tender and drain the excess water.

Salt- 1/2 tsp

Asofetida – A pinch

Garam Masala – 1 tsp ( you can also use McCormick curry powder)

Grated Coconut – 1/2 cup  Fresh/ Frozed

Grated Carrot – 1/4 cup

Chopped Fenugreek – 1 cup

Chopped Carrot Greens – 1 Cup

Chopped Gigner & Garlic – 1tsp each or as per your taste

In a pan add 1-1.5 tsp of oil and let it heat on medium heat for few minutes.Add cumin and sesame seeds.

Once they are brown add Asofetida, chopped ginger & Chillies and let them sauté for few seconds.

Add fresh/thawed coconut and carrots and sauté for 2 minutes.

Once the rawness is gone then add chopped fenugreek and carrot leaves. To it add little salt and put the lid and let it cook for 3 minutes.

Once the greens are tender then add boiled split chickpea and Moong dal (Split Mung Bean) and cover it for 3 more minutes. Add salt if required.

TIP: If you feel it is dry in a wrap you can add little plain yogurt and use  as stuffing.

About Nima

Hi, I am very delighted that you stopped by! Welcome to Creative ME!!! I 'm a wife to an amazing hubby, an Asian(Indian) native, nomad for a while and finally settled @ The Grand Canyon State in 2012. Our first 2 months of accommodation was in a hotel and that's when everything started. You must be wondering HOW? I was introduced to HGTV and started reading craft blogs. Ohh yes, PINTERST toooo and that is my fav! Well, inspired from these places, I started to DIY on budget and decorate our home. Whenever I posted pics of my projects on Facebook, everyone loved and gave many positive comments. Some of them also said I should not look for a job, instead start a blog or sell some of my projects ;) They thought I was doing something very cool!! That was a great motivation and I decided to tickle my creative senses to tame the stress monster ;-) And then, one day here is my blog , where I share my ideas and projects with friends, family and all other aspiring DIY-er's :) And if you like my blog, please come back and also don't forget to tell your friends :) Lastly, if you have a fun and functional craft or project or even a simple recipe I want to hear….please let me know and I can feature, down the line we will make Creative ME to WE..;)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

